2014 JazzWeek Awards presented at JazzWeek Summit

SAN JOSE, California – Jazz radio stations, jazz radio programmers, record labels and contributors to the jazz radio community were recognized at the 2014 JazzWeek Awards, presented at the Blackbird Tavern in San Jose. The awards reception was sponsored by North Coast Brewing Company, Fort Bragg, California, brewers of Brother Thelonious Belgian-style Abbey Ale.

Michael Carlson of MC Promotion was awarded the 2014 Duke Dubois Humanitarian Award, presented each year to an individual whose dedication to jazz and jazz radio has been exceptional. Because no award was given in 2013, the Duke Dubois Award committee also selected Arturo Gómez, music director at KUVO in Denver, Colorado, as the 2013 Duke Dubois Humanitarian Award winner.

In the categories of station and programmer of the year, awards were presented in three market sizes and for internet/non-terrestrial stations.

Stations of the year winners were: Markets 1-25, KSDS, San Diego; Markets 26-79, WWOZ, New Orleans; Markets 80+, KCCK, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; internet/non-terrestrial, JazzRadio.com.

The programmer of the year awards this year have been named in memory of Bobby Jackson, host and producer of the nationally-syndicated program The Roots of Smooth and a programmer and music director at WCPN in Cleveland and WCLK in Atlanta, who died unexpectedly last year. Jackson was also a former Duke Dubois award winner. Winners were: Markets 1-25, Linda Yohn, WEMU, Ypsilanti (Detroit); Markets 26-79, Derrick Lucas, WGMC, Rochester, N.Y.; Markets 80+, Bob Stewart, KCCK, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; internet/non-terrestrial, Dr. Brad Stone, SoulAndJazz.com.

The promoter/promotion company of the year award was named this year in memory former Duke Dubois award winner Dick LaPalm, whose career in music spanned seven decades. The 2014 Dick LaPalm award winner was Groov Marketing and Consulting, owned by Joshua Ellman and Mark Rini.

Record label of the year was Mack Avenue Records.

The nominees and winners were voted on by subscribers to JazzWeek.com.

Complete List of Nominees (Winners in Bold):

Station of the Year, Markets 1-25

  • KMHD, Portland
  • KSDS, San Diego
  • KUVO, Denver
  • WBGO, Newark (NYC)
  • WDNA, Miami
  • WEMU, Ypsilanti (Detroit)

Station of the Year, Markets 26-79

  • KUNV, Las Vegas
  • WGMC, Rochester
  • WBLV, Grand Rapids / Muskegon
  • WNCU, Durham
  • WUCF, Orlando
  • WWOZ, New Orleans

Station of the Year, Markets 80+

  • KCCK, Cedar Rapids
  • KEWU, Spokane
  • WESM, Princess Anne
  • WJSU, Jackson
  • WNMC, Traverse City
  • WXTS, Toledo

Station of the Year, Internet/Non-Terrestrial

  • Jazz From Gallery 41
  • JazzRadio.com
  • MOJA
  • RadioIO
  • SoulandJazz.com
  • Taintradio

Bobby Jackson Award, Programmer of the Year, Markets 1-25

  • Matt Fleeger, KMHD
  • Arturo Gomez, KUVO
  • Kevin O’Connor, KBEM
  • Chad Fox, KSDS
  • Michael Valentine, WDNA
  • Linda Yohn, WEMU

Bobby Jackson Award, Programmer of the Year, Markets 26-79

  • Eric Cohen, WAER
  • BH Hudson, WNCU
  • Kim Linzy, KUNV
  • Blaise Lantana, KJZZ
  • Derrick Lucas, WGMC
  • Lazaro Vega, WBLV

Bobby Jackson Award, Programmer of the Year, Markets 80+

  • Thomas M. “Biz” Bisard, WNMC
  • Elizabeth Farriss, KEWU
  • Russell Haines, WWSP
  • Larissa Hale, WJSU
  • Bob McWilliams, KANU
  • Bob Stewart, KCCK

Bobby Jackson Award, Programmer of the Year, Internet/Non-Terrestrial

  • Ken Irwin, Taintradio
  • Bob Rogers, Taintradio
  • Mark Shapiro, Mood
  • Mark Ruffin, Sirius/XM
  • Brad Stone, SoulandJazz.com
  • Scott Willis, JazzRadio.com

Dick LaPalm Award, Promoter/Promotion Company of the Year

  • Groov Marketing and Consulting
  • Jazzzdog Promotions
  • Lisa Reedy Promotions
  • MC Promotion, Mike Carlson
  • New World N Jazz
  • The Tracking Station, Mike Hurzon

Record Label of the Year

  • Blue Note
  • Concord
  • HighNote
  • Mack Avenue
  • Motema
  • Origin
  • Smoke Sessions