Nominees selected for 2018 JazzWeek Awards

Nominations have been tabulated for the 2018 JazzWeek Awards, which will be presented on August 9 in San Jose, California, at the JazzWeek Summit. In addition to these awards selected by voters, the Duke Dubois Humanitarian Award will also be presented.

The following are the nominees for 2018:

Station of the Year

Outstanding presentation, community service and involvement, professionalism, participation in the JazzWeek community.

Station of the Year — More than 40 hours per week of jazz

  • KSDS, San Diego
  • KUVO, Denver
  • WBGO, Newark
  • WDNA, Miami
  • WGMC, Rochester
  • WUCF, Orlando

Station of the Year — Fewer than 40 hours per week of jazz

  • HPR-2, Hawaii Public Radio
  • KANU, Lawrence
  • KJZZ, Phoenix
  • KXPR, Sacramento
  • WGBH, Boston
  • WHRV, Norfolk

Internet, Non-Terrestrial, or Syndicator of the Year

  • Jazz 24/7 from WGBH
  • Jazz After Hours, PRI
  • Jazz From Gallery 41
  • MOJA Radio
  • SiriusXM Real Jazz

Presenter of the Year

This category is for a jazz broadcaster with exceptional presentation and communications skills for an outstanding individual who hosts or produces a jazz program.
  • Derrick Lucas, WGMC
  • Jae Sinnett, WHRV
  • Jay Edwards, WCLK
  • Kayonne Riley, WUCF
  • Mark Ruffin, SiriusXM
  • Michael Valentine, WDNA

Record Label of the Year

This category recognizes the overall quality of releases, production values, and artist support for the year’s outstanding record label.
  • Blue Note
  • HighNote/Savant
  • Mack Avenue
  • Motéma
  • Origin
  • Posi-Tone
  • Smoke Sessions

Programmer of the Year, Bobby Jackson Award — Voted on by promoters

The recipient of the award should demonstrate exceptional programming ability, professionalism, and active participation in the JazzWeek community.

Programmer of the Year — Terrestrial

  • Bob Stewart, KCCK
  • Derrick Lucas, WGMC
  • Kayonne Riley, WUCF
  • Lazaro Vega, WBLV
  • Malvin Massey, WUMR
  • Michael Cornette, WUSF

Programmer of the Year — Internet and Non-Terrestrial

  • Brad Stone, The Creative Source
  • Jeff Hanley, Jazz After Hours
  • Michael Ambrosino, The Fringe/Artist Spotlight
  • Ron Pelletier, Jazz from Gallery 41
  • Russ Davis, MOJA Radio
  • Tessil Collins, Jazz 24/7 from WGBH

Promoter or Promotion Company of the Year, Dick LaPalm Award — Voted on by JazzWeek reporting stations

The promoter/company should demonstrate outstanding communication, consistent quality of releases, and strong artist support, as well as active participation in the JazzWeek community.
  • Groov Marketing and Consulting
  • Kari-On Productions
  • Lisa Reedy Promotions
  • MC Promotion
  • New World ‘N’ Jazz
  • The Tracking Station