Facebook Twitter LinkedIn E-mail RSS

2018 JazzWeek Awards presented

Published on August 9, 2018, by in News, Updates.

The 2018 JazzWeek Awards were presented Thursday evening at a reception in the Hedley Club at Hotel De Anza in San Jose, California.

The following are winners for 2018:

Station of the Year

Outstanding presentation, community service and involvement, professionalism, participation in the JazzWeek community.

Station of the Year — More than 40 hours per week of jazz: WBGO, Newark

Station of the Year — Fewer than 40 hours per week of jazz: WGBH, Boston

Internet, Non-Terrestrial, or Syndicator of the Year: SoulandJazz.com

Presenter of the Year

This category is for a jazz broadcaster with exceptional presentation and communications skills for an outstanding individual who hosts or produces a jazz program: Mark Ruffin, SiriusXM

Record Label of the Year

This category recognizes the overall quality of releases, production values, and artist support for the year’s outstanding record label: Posi-Tone

Programmer of the Year, Bobby Jackson Award

The recipient of the award should demonstrate exceptional programming ability, professionalism, and active participation in the JazzWeek community.

Programmer of the Year — Terrestrial: Bob Stewart, KCCK

Programmer of the Year — Internet and Non-Terrestrial: Jeff Hanley, Jazz After Hours

Promoter or Promotion Company of the Year, Dick LaPalm Award

The promoter/company should demonstrate outstanding communication, consistent quality of releases, and strong artist support, as well as active participation in the JazzWeek community: Groov Marketing and Consulting

Scott Willis Jazz Impact Award

The 2018 recipient is jazz radio host, drummer, and radio host Jae Sinnett, recognized for his commitment to excellence and contribution in multiple areas of jazz music and presentation.

Duke Dubois Jazz Humanitarian Award

The 2018 recipient is WBGO co-founder Dorthaan Kirk.

Comments Off on 2018 JazzWeek Awards presented.